Thames Valley Harriers star wins bronze at London Championships

PUBLISHED: 14:30 23 November 2011

Mohamud Aadan (right)

Mohamud Aadan (right)


Mohamud Aadan ensured that Thames Valley Harriers won a London Championships medal for the second year running at Parliament Hill on Saturday.

TVH’s Chris Smith, who had struck gold in the 2010 race, was unable to defend his title due to injury, but Aadan stepped into the breach, producing a superb run to take the bronze medal.

The 21-year-old’s achievement meant the day ended on a high note for the Valley after an earlier administrative error had thrown both their men’s and women’s teams into turmoil.

Four TVH runners had been left off the official starting list and, although replacement numbers were later issued, the problem was rectified too late for Pascale Cayssials to race for the men’s team – or for the women to field a full team at all.

But Aadan seemed unaffected by the upheaval as he sped away over the 10km course with the leading group, closely followed by team-mate Naz Dawit.

Dawit was placed seventh with just one of the four laps to go and in line to win the under-20 section – only to be forced out of the race with a bad stitch.

Aadan pressed on, though, and crossed the line in 32 minutes 58 seconds to finish third.

Sean Renfer was the next Valley runner home in 15th place, clocking an impressive London Championships debut time of 34:43.

TVH’s Ali Yahye made a welcome return from injury to finish in 96th place with a run of 39:59, which also earned him the bonus of third position in the under-20 race.

The scoring quartet was completed by Manuel Da Silva, whose determined run of 40:36 gave him 104th place and brought the Valley home in ninth out of 21 teams overall.

Further down the field, Phil Wetton finished 126th (41:23), followed by Matt Ponting (133rd, 42:07), Richard Bell (144th, 42:42), Mike Wilson (181st, 44:40) and Simon Maddison (232nd, 51:31).

Despite the disappointment of being ineligible as a complete team, there were some strong performances from the women’s contingent, with Tracy Barlow the first TVH finisher in 20th place (24:31).

Jo Mobed took 34th place with a run of 25:15, with Jess Bass 61st (27:09) in a total field of 139 finishers.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Brent & Kilburn Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Kilburn Times