Brent youngsters reach London Youth Games finals

PUBLISHED: 16:03 19 June 2013 | UPDATED: 16:03 19 June 2013

Brent tennis team

Brent tennis team


Brent’s table tennis teams underlined their medal prospects as they cruised into the finals with the loss of just one set between them.

The boys’ team – Jack Josephs, Abdi Ahmed, Curtis Welsh and Kester Pardoe – won all three of their matches without dropping a set in the qualifying tournament at Redbridge Sports Centre.

And the girls’ quartet – Eurica Mae Medina, Jestina George, Sarah Menghistab and Sanaa Jebari – also won three out of three games in their group, losing just a single set.

Both teams, who are coached by Capital City Academy Table Tennis Club’s Ashley Stokes, will now compete against rivals from across the capital in next month’s finals at Crystal Palace.

Brent team manager Robin Ashleigh said: “We’ve got a great shot in the finals, but the competition gets stronger every year. It’s not going to be easy, but they should feel confident.”

Brent’s tennis youngsters missed out on the finals after recording two wins and two losses in their qualifying group at Redbridge Sports Centre.

The borough squad, made up of Zachary Phillips, Max Ephson-Clarke, Dorothea Laurencia, Jodie Harriott and Siobhan Abrams-Brand, defeated both Hounslow and last year’s silver medallists Sutton.

But they were eliminated after losing a closely-contested match to neighbours Ealing, coupled with a further defeat at the hands of Bromley.

It was a similar story for Brent’s badminton team, whose bid to reach the finals was unsuccessful despite comfortable victories over City of London and Camden.

The Brent youngsters – Teja Sharwin, Archie Raman, Kushal Varasni, Mayand Dabasia, Kumaresh Harjharan, Tia Murray, Anjali Mavani, Tanisha Halai, Druvi Patel and Druvi Vyas – missed out after losing to top seeds Haringey.

But their performances represented a significant improvement on last year’s results – and that was also the case in trampolining, where Brent had failed to field a side in 2012. This year’s team – Rasharn Akinlade, Morayo Lasekan, Brighid Quirke, Marcel Baumard and Jasmine Steyne – put in some outstanding performances to finish 14th overall out of 33 boroughs.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Brent & Kilburn Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Kilburn Times