The Conservative Party hold on to Kenton seat in by-election

Former Tory councillor is crowned the the winner

THE Tories have held on to their Kenton seat in a by-election that took place yesterday (Thursday).

Suresh Laxmidas Kansagra is the new councillor for the Conservative ward following the death of Arthur Steel on New Years Day.

Cllr Kansagra is no stranger to the political word as he was a councillor for the Barnhill ward for 12 years until he lost his seat with his two party colleagues last year.

Cllr Kansagra gained 1,063 votes with second place going to the Labour candidate Eleanor Southwood who polled 907.

You may also want to watch:

With 185 votes Independent councillor Robert Dunwell pipped the Liberal Democrat’s Chunilal Hirani by a margin of six.

The Green Party’s Alan Mathison came fifth with 75 votes.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter