Labour boot out last Tory councillor to win overall control of Preston

Labour has gained overall control of Preston.

The party have booted out the last remaining Conservative councillor Harshabdhai Patel after winning two seats on the Tory-stronghold ward in 2010.

UKIP beat the Lib Dems to third place with 345 votes.



Eileen BARKER, Lib Dem: 260

Matthew BRADLEY, Labour: 1,712 ELECTED

Most Read

Jacqueline BUNCE-LINSELL, Lib Dem: 245

Jeffrey DEEN, UKIP: 345

May ERSKINE, Green Party: 317

Patricia HARRISON, Labour: 1,671 ELECTED

Jean HOSSAIN, Labour: 1,549 ELECTED

David JOHNSON, Lib Dem: 211

Michael MAURICE, Conservative: 1,339

Harshabdhai PATEL, Conservative: 1,428

Monica PATEL, Conservative: 1,334


Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter